I’m Stuck! Now What?

With my first show behind me (and it was a great show, to boot!), I find that I am somewhat stuck in what to do now. 

I was actually able to sell a couple of bags that have been in my inventory for a while, so I was really excited to have them in happy homes.  Being so far from the holidays, I didn’t sell a lot of my “gifty” items.  My inventory should be enough for the next show a week from Friday, but it’s not exactly where I want it. 

I’m finding myself in a bit of a rut, unmotivated to sew, anything!  :/

So how do I re-inspire myself?  Well, it’s not really an easy question to answer.  I sometimes window shop fabrics, and clothing stores to see what’s new.  Sometimes I buy new fabrics, sometimes, I shop my “stash” and my pattern drawer for fresh inspiration, or browse Etsy for what others are doing, or patterns that are for sale. Sometimes, I just make myself sit down and sew!!!

This past week, I have shopped for new patterns.  A new bag pattern that I LOVE, and can’t wait to make up for me, and another pattern for something that you don’t often see at craft shows…iPad carrying cases! 

I am really excited to try both these patterns out!  But first, I have to prioritize. 

I have started working on a great cherry print, to add to my gift sets, clutches, wallets, wristlets, and I’m going to add eye-glass cases too!  Things that are lower priced items and will get snapped up for the holidays. 

Then I’m going to grab some plainer fabrics and get to work on some bag styles that are a “sure thing”, and work on matching accessories for them too.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to read my new pattern instructions, and gather my supplies so I can squeeze in these new patterns along with the others! 

It really doesn’t take much to clear out the cobwebs and get the creative juices flowing again.  Once I’m motivated, I can get quite a bit done.  It’s just making the best use of my time, and staying focused. 

Starting a week from Friday, I have a show every weekend for 4 weeks!  And then, I have 2 custom orders to fill!  Careful planning and setting small goals, will help me stay focused!

So now I’m off to make a quick list of what needs to be done, then hopefully, I’ll wake up tomorrow with tons of energy and have a very productive day!

Stacey

 

About bagsbystacey

I have wanted to make bags and purses since before my daughter was born. 10 years, and 2 kids later, I finally made myself a simple, but really fun bag. People who saw it loved it, and with the encouragement of my family and friends, Bags by Stacey was established. Now that I have a small following, I am looking for more ways to promote my business, and I thought blogging might be a good way to connect with my followers and keep them up to date on what is going on with my purses! My goal for Bags by Stacey is simple. Provide handcrafted bags that are both unique and fun! For Bags by Stacey: Inside the Bag, I just want to connect with people who love bags as much as I do! xo- Stacey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

