Making Time!

I LOVE all kinds of crafts. I especially enjoy crafting for family members at the holidays, and I am literally YEARS behind in the kids scrapbooks. I often say there are not enough hours in the day, or days in the week to get done what I want to do. Then there’s the procrastination that sets in. Yes, I procrastinate too!

One of my “goals” for the summer (yes, I have summer goals….call me crazy!) was to spend one day a week working on scrapbooks. Yesterday was my scrapbook day. Once I got all the morning stuff out-of-the-way, I started pulling all of my scrapbook stuff up from my room in the garage (which is hot and uncomfortable in August), into the house where it is cooler. Took me forever! Then I noticed I was out of soccer paper, so off to the store to pick some up! So glad it is literally 2 minutes away. Then lunch, taking my son to the pool, it was almost 4pm before I was able to start!

I was concerned all that effort setting up, shopping, would be wasted and I would only get one page made. After all, I only had about an hour and a half before I had to put everything away to start dinner. But, I sat down, and I was able to work on 5-6 pages! They are not award-winning pages, but I got pictures matted, and stuck to the pages, with some journaling too! I was so excited and happy!

I was literally floating on air the rest of the evening because I accomplished what I set out to do! Now my son’s 4th grade school year is 1/3 done, and I feel like I’m keeping my promise to myself.

I love sewing, and making my bags, it truly is my passion. But sometimes when you’re doing something to make money, you can get wrapped up in it and can’t justify making time for anything else you love. In my case, my other crafts. I look at the craft show dates I have set up starting at the end of September, and think “I only have a few weeks, and I want to do so much!” But what good is sewing for these shows and to post on Etsy if I lose the other things that make my heart sing?

So today, I have another busy day planned until about 2:30 in the afternoon. After that, I’m home, and I will be sewing. Hopefully, I will carry out what I set out to do today, for another evening of floating on air!

Here’s to making time for the things you love. When was the last time you carved out a little time to do something YOU love?

Stacey

About bagsbystacey

I have wanted to make bags and purses since before my daughter was born. 10 years, and 2 kids later, I finally made myself a simple, but really fun bag. People who saw it loved it, and with the encouragement of my family and friends, Bags by Stacey was established. Now that I have a small following, I am looking for more ways to promote my business, and I thought blogging might be a good way to connect with my followers and keep them up to date on what is going on with my purses! My goal for Bags by Stacey is simple. Provide handcrafted bags that are both unique and fun! For Bags by Stacey: Inside the Bag, I just want to connect with people who love bags as much as I do! xo- Stacey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

