I have those days too.

I have been spending the last day or so working on a custom order, a gorgeous beach bag. 

I had time one evening after all my responsibilites and chores were done to cut it out and prep it for sewing (not a quick and easy part of the process, mind you).  Yesterday afternoon, I assembled the exterior and started working on the interior. 

Last night, after dinner and shopping for things the kids needed for camp, I was very excited to sit down and finish sewing the bag together.  Except, it didn’t happen.  There are 8 pieces for the lining, and I wound up cutting out 4 of them from the same pattern piece, when it should have been 2 from 2 different pattern pieces.  I had to re-cut them. 

Once I was satisfied with the correct pieces being cut, I started sewing!  Yay!!  I sewed 3 pieces together to make the loop I needed instead of 4.  I had to rip out one seam and sew in the 4th piece.  A minor setback that anyone could have done!  It’s only an 8 inch long seam,  a quick fix in my book!

I was back on track and excited!  I still had plenty of time to finish this bag!   However, when I attached this piece to the top of the main lining piece, and sewed it together, I did it so it was backwards!   ARGH!!!!  So I spent the next 10 minutes ripping that seam out! 

This is when I gave up on fininshing this bag last night.  Sometimes, I’m either too tired, or have been sewing too much, I start making mistakes I shouldn’t be making!  Instead of continuing on and sewing and ripping things out, I stop sewing.  It preserves the quality of the fabrics, the final look of the piece, and let’s face it, my sanity.  Thank goodness this doesn’t happen all that often!

So here’s to today being a better day for sewing this bag together, correctly!  All pieces facing the right way and included where they should be!  Today, I will finish this custom order! 

About bagsbystacey

I have wanted to make bags and purses since before my daughter was born. 10 years, and 2 kids later, I finally made myself a simple, but really fun bag. People who saw it loved it, and with the encouragement of my family and friends, Bags by Stacey was established. Now that I have a small following, I am looking for more ways to promote my business, and I thought blogging might be a good way to connect with my followers and keep them up to date on what is going on with my purses! My goal for Bags by Stacey is simple. Provide handcrafted bags that are both unique and fun! For Bags by Stacey: Inside the Bag, I just want to connect with people who love bags as much as I do! xo- Stacey
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

